Ayreon – The Source

As promised, I finally had some time to sit down a few times and let the new Ayreon release ‘The Source’ wash over me. And oh boy, does it deliver.

Ayreon is perhaps best known for his complex stories running through his albums. And ‘The Source’ is no exception, as it fleshes out the lore from the ‘01011001’ record from 2008 by being its prequel. Not only do some of the same singers, and therefore characters, from that record make an appearance on this one. It also uses variable musical elements, most notable during the closer ‘March Of The Machines’ which borrows heavily on ‘01011001’ opener ‘Age Of Shadows’. The rich story element of ‘The Source’ is also perhaps its downside, although a very small one. Everything intertwines and flows so good that it is almost impossible to enjoy it on sort bursts, or just listen to just a couple of songs. Every tracks leaves you hanging, wanting for more.

I won’t spoil the story for you so onward to the music itself. To keep it short, you get what you expect. I mean, for those familiar with Ayreons previous works the style on ‘The Source’ should be no surprise. I’m not saying that its a ‘been there, done that’ kind of familiarity. But you get his signature mixture of progressive power metal opera which could easily fit as a soundtrack for a science-fiction fantasy epic. And again its impressive how he was able to merge all the different instruments and singers into some very complex layered songs without sounding to dense or overly kitschy as some other power metal bands tend to do.

Speaking of singers, ‘The Source’ has again it share amount of celebrities from the metal world. Among them James LaBrie (Dream Theater), Simone Simons (Epica), Tobias Sammet (Avantasia, Edguy), Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian), Floor Jansen (Nightwish) and many others. All of them deliver top-notch performance, as to be expected from such a cast.

So, if you’re a fan of soundtracks, metal and love to read to piles of books of epic space drama’s than ‘The Source’ and also Ayreons previous records are a must listen. Buy it, sit down and let the story and sounds wash over you.

[mks_progressbar name=”Score” level=”9/10: Bloody awesome!” value=”90″ height=”20″ color=”#000000″ style=”squared”]

[mks_separator style=”dashed” height=”5″]



The Source coverReleased: April 28th, 2017
Label: Music Theories Recordings
Bandpage: arjenlucassen.com

  1. The Day That The World Breaks Down
  2. Sea Of Machines
  3. Everybody Dies
  4. Star Of Sirrah
  5. All That Was
  6. Run! Apocalypse! Run!
  7. Condemned To Live
  8. Aquatic Race
  9. The Dream Dissolves
  10. Deathcry Of A Race
  11. Into The Ocean
  12. Bay Of Dreams
  13. Planet Y Is Alive!
  14. The Source Will Flow
  15. Journey To Forever
  16. The Human Compulsion
  17. March Of The Machines
Eranum Written by:

Geek, Weeb, Metalhead, Tuba Player & Couchpotato. That pretty much sums me up. Although some people also call me 'Party', 'Gargamel' and 'The Listmaster'. Anyhow, that's me, 40 years old and crazy enough to write about all kinds of crap. My music taste you ask? That's simple: True Skaro Wookie-Fronted Klingon Metal. As long as it's loud. Rock and geek on!

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.